Shipping and the Law”, the annual conference organized by Studio Legale Lauro, this year reaches a major milestone, celebrating its Tenth Edition Anniversary.

The event, which every year brings together many of the most important personalities in the shipping sector, will take place on 9th and 10th October, in the fourteenth century “Barons Hall” of the ‘Maschio Angioino’ Castle, a renaissance symbol of Naples located in the heart of the ancient maritime city, nearby City Hall and the antique Angevin dock.

The conference, this year focusing on “The Shock of the New”, will be officially opened on Wednesday 9th October, by a welcome address from maritime lawyer and conference organizer Francesco S. Lauro. This will be followed by a speech given by the vice president of the Institute for International Affairs Vincenzo Camporini, who will address the “New International Balances: Evolution or Revolution?” and by the opening addresses of the International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) president Esben Poulsson, the Confitarma president Mario Mattioli, the Confitarma Young Shipowners Group president Giacomo Gavarone and the European Community Shipowners Associations (ECSA) president elect Claes Berglund, who will address the “New Global Political Landscape Effects on Shipping And Trade From an EU Perspective”.

Following a coffee break hosted by Palumbo Group, the proceeding will continue with a round table discussion entitled “The Shock of the New and The Ship Finance” – moderated by prof. Arturo Capasso – which will include Giuseppe Bottiglieri – President of Giuseppe Bottiglieri Shipping Company, Carlo Cameli – Shipping Advisor CCR Shipping, Nicola Coccia – Past President Confitarma, Peppino D’Amato – Chairman Perseveranza SpA di Navigazione and Fabrizio Vettosi – CEO Venice Shipping and Logistics.

After a lunch hosted by Multraship Towage & Salvage, the conference will reach the main panel entitled “How Will Be the World and Shipping in 2030 (and Beyond)”, introduced through wider frame addresses from prof. Roberto D’Alimonte – “The Future Challenges in Liberal Democracies”, the Oxford University futurologist Hamish McRae – The World Economy in 2030” and the Chief Commercial Officer Marine RINA Paolo Moretti – The New Technologies in 2030”. The panel will include the International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) president Esben Poulsson and its vice president Emanuele Grimaldi, the European Community Shipowners Associations (ECSA) president elect Claes Berglund (Stena), the past president ECSA John Lyras and Thomas Rehder, the Confitarma president Mario Mattioli and the former Sheik Yamani ‘think tank’ head Leonidas P. Drollas. The round table, moderated by Terry Macalister and David Osler, will see interventions from James Bean – Managing Director The Standard Club UK, Mariella Bottiglieri – Managing Director Giuseppe Bottiglieri Shipping Company, Federico Deodato – President and CEO P.L. Ferrari & Co., Mauro Iguera – CEO CR Group, Lorenzo Matacena – Member of Board Directors Caronte & Tourist SpA and Leendert Muller – Managing Director Multraship Towage & Salvage.

In the evening, an “Old Masters Dinner” will be featured in the Royal Museum and Park of Capodimonte for the Speakers, Delegates and the Authorities, hosted by TEFIN.

On Thursday 10th October, the conference first session will bear the title “The Shock of The New and The Infrastructures” and will include contributions from Francesco di Majo – President Authority of Harbor System of the Central-Northern Tyrrhenian Sea, Umberto Masucci – President F2i Holding Portuale (FHP), Vincenzo Ercole Salazar Sarsfield – Global Head Italian Infrastructure, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Pietro Spirito – President Authority of Harbor System of the Central Tyrrhenian Sea.

The final session, entitled “The Shock of The New: Legal Challenges”, will be opened with a keynote speech by prof. Mans Jacobsson, former Director of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds, who will address “The Legal Challenges Arising from Unmanned Ships”.

The round table, chaired by Clive Aston – Past President LMAA Committee and Jonathan Lux – Mediator, Arbitrator and Barrister, will include contributions from James Leabeater QC – Barrister 4 Pump Court, who will address “The Legal Challenges Arising from Brexit”, Tiejha Smyth – Deputy Director (FD&D) North of England P&I Association, who will address “The New Challenges Arising from New Sulphur Cap” and interventions from Giorgio Berlingieri – President AIDM, Bruno Castellini – Partner Jones Day, Mark Clough – of Counsel Studio Legale Lauro, David McInnes – Partner BDM Law, Robert Mayer – SMIT and David Pitlarge – Partner Hill Dickinson LLP.

At the end of the conference sessions, there will be a lunch hosted by Caronte & Tourist.